Ben To Shed His Locks For Blood Bikes!

Posted on

Good Evening All

Cannock schoolboy Ben Taylor is preparing to lose his impressive locks in a fund-raising appeal for Shropshire and Staffordshire Blood Bikes (SSBB) in memory of his late father John Taylor, who died after being hit by a lorry as he crossed the A5 in March 2013.

Ben who is 12 this month and a pupil at Cardinal Griffin Catholic High School in Cannock said: “My Dad died the day after I had my haircut in March last year and since then I just couldn’t face having another haircut – plus my Dad always had quite long hair himself. “I recently had a dream where I had my head shaved for charity and I thought why not?  I could raise money for the Blood Bikes charity which my Dad supported.”

Ben’s Mum Diane Taylor said: This is Ben’s own idea, as his father John was a blood donor and received 25 units of blood himself at the University Hospital of North Staffordshire before he died from his injuries.

“Ben’s uncle Andy Wilson, rides for the SSBB Blood Bikes charity and Ben wanted to do something positive in memory of his Dad by raising money for SSBB.”

“Andy Wilson said: “It has been a really tough year for Ben and although his long hair is against school rules, everyone understands the connection with John’s death. So, when Ben heard that it cost about £2000 to run a blood bike each year, he decided that was going to be his fundraising target.

If you would like to support Ben’s Haircut Appeal please click here.

Ben 2

Leave a Reply

